Winding down

Visited one of my mother’s best friends today. She’s in the health center wing of the retirement community to which she and her husband moved just before she broke her hip a couple of years ago. She recognized my brother and me. We reminisced with her.

“You gave us a lot of fun times at your house, you know,” I said, just before leaving. “I hope so,” she said.

She asked us to bring her cats to her room, which we couldn’t do. “I love them,” she said. I told her a few stories about my cat. She fell asleep.

The visit was short.

Thinking of her this evening and of my mother and of the two of them laughing hysterically, putting on skits, sharing quips.

Nan is one of the wittiest, funniest people I’ve had the pleasure of knowing. What I appreciate most of all, though, is that she was a really, really good friend to my mother.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

