My friend has wings

Profoundly moved by this question from my friend: “So, how did it go?” She was stepping into my car, her butt not even yet on the seat. We were headed to another friend’s for our should-be-weekly-but-isn’t-always meeting and I’d expected her to comment on having been told by her docs that her body couldn’t handle chemo or knowing she likely won’t be here in a year or trying to find something for the pain and maybe even for her swollen feet. But, no. She asked me, “How did it go?” And waited for me to answer and, when I didn’t answer thoroughly, asked me again.

She wasn’t deflecting. In fact, when we got to our friend’s, she calmly updated us on her medical situation.

Grace.

Leave a Reply

