My teaching buddy

Just spent about 90 minutes with a long-time friend whose trip with his family each year to attend the Black Swamp Arts Festival is a happy time for me. Tony and I taught in adjacent classrooms until 2003. We were in sync creatively and in how we treated our students. He’s a big guy; scary to those who don’t know him. He understands kids and is highly effective in the classroom. Over breakfast, he and his daughter took turns telling me their experiences in school this year. She’s in first grade, and her daddy’s so pleased with her, it’s darling to watch.

I do miss helping children experience the joy of reading and writing. Wistful.

2 thoughts on “My teaching buddy

  1. I understand how you miss helping children experience the joy of reading and writing; I taught flute lessons for years (my favorite age was about 5th grade through about 8th, the beginners through intermediate level) and I miss the creative energy that students brought to my life!

    • Cool, Cindi. And, yes, grades 5-8 are wonderful — still enthusiastic, eager to learn. Slightly snippy, which I never minded. Funny and engaging.

Leave a Reply

