Early morning consequential

Wide awake. Cicadas, too.

And, you?

Here’s the deal: Reading in bed is wonderful, until it makes you fall asleep two pages in, i.e. way-too-early.

Still wheat-free after 40 days.

The older I get, the more I like the color blue.

Gold cars always have slow drivers.

The Allman Brothers will always have my heart.

Jane, my 96-year-old friend, liked the BBQ chicken I took her yesterday. “I didn’t know you could cook,” was what she said by way of a compliment.

Mr. Cotter was a brilliant professor of English literature at John Carroll University when I was there. He was short, older and had a crew cut and a bit of a stutter. He was one of the wittiest, funniest people I’ve ever met. Died on the day we graduated, on his way to his flat in London. He wasn’t a sentimental man.

I love Shakespeare.

My father and I saw Carol Channing in “Hello Dolly,” and Yul Brenner in “The King and I” in NYC, May, 1978.

The train ride to Windsor is very pleasant.

You meet all kinds of people when you just travel a bit. Even famous ones.

I really love books.

There is something about poetry that captures essences. That’s not a poetic sentence — but it’s true.

Meaghan, Ben, Caroline, Anne, Ellen, Carolyn, Eric, Celia, Olivia, Connor and Addie are my daughter, nieces and nephews.

The Great Lakes are the world’s greatest anything.

Pete Seeger is still alive.

Russian history is full of people pretending to be other people.

My second toes are longer than my first.

I would love to be Bonnie Raitt for just one day.

You are very good to have read all this. I’m sorry there is no prize.

War and Peace is worth reading, too, and there’s a bigger payoff.

Leave a Reply

