Yes to water

Beautiful swim this morning. Water was cool and pleasant, unlike afternoon pool water that’s been warmed by the sun. Just three other people there so we each had our own lane. Elena from Russia said, “Oh, you are here to swim this morning! It is beautiful, yes? Didn’t I tell you — oh, it is so beautiful in the morning!”

Among the people I thought about while swimming: my daughter, who is contemplating a return to school; my niece, who recently returned from Paris; her sister, who’s at soccer camp; her brother, who wants to move out west; my niece who’s moving to a new house with her new family; my nephew, whose son at age 3 is showing signs of musical precocity; my parents, who’ve been deceased for some years.

Swimming puts the pieces together.

Leave a Reply

