Digging in

Have never been a runner. And walking has never been particularly comfortable, though stepping lightly over uneven ground when hiking was never a problem. Perhaps it’s because one of my legs is 1 in. longer than another.

Regardless, something is motivating me to do some running and biking with my amazing niece, Celia, who, at age 13, thinks she will always be able to beat me in any sport she chooses. Except swimming. Ha ha, I tell her, I have you beat in the pool.

So, I will begin to walk fast and work slowly up to running.

Celia thinks her will is stronger than mine. She’s wrong.

And, by the way, I tell her, no mercy just because she’s 13.

Fierce.

Leave a Reply

