Remembering the Y

The news that the South Toledo branch of the YMCA is closing has been calling forth memories all day.

My mother and Mrs. Irmen drove miles and miles and miles in all kinds of weather so Jo Dee and I could swim on the South Toledo YMCA swim team.

The swim team is where I met my best pal Janet.

It’s where Bev Myers taught me how to swim fly. It’s where I learned how to do a flip turn. It’s where I learned I was a pretty good swimmer.

It’s where I learned discipline and fortitude often pay off in wins. It’s where I learned about team spirit.

“Cheer, cheer for South Toledo Y!” we’d sing at the meets while dipping wet fingers into dry jello for the sugar boost we were sure would lower our times.

Good times. Great memories.

Leave a Reply

