Swimming through it

Injured my arm while on a stretch machine about 12 years ago. Now and then, the injury flares up, often sidelining my swimming ambitions — like it did about 7-8 weeks ago.

Ouch.

Today, though, I swam a slow and easly 1/2 mile, stopping every few lengths to massage and stretch the arm. Also kicked more lengths than usual.

The stretching and massaging I’ve been doing on land seems to have prepared the arm for that slow and easy swim.

The result is a happy me, looking forward to getting back to swimming a mile five times a week. I’d like to do a few lake swims this summer.

Leave a Reply

