Missing Jose Feliciano

Being in Westport for Easter is wonderful because I get to visit with my niece and nephew and their families. But hearing that Jose Feliciano sang at the Good Friday services that I missed was a little disappointing. I accessed “Come on, baby, light my fire” on youtube for my niece, Ellen. She’s 14, which makes being on the receiving end of her eyerolls a delight rather than a scourge. This time, however, I really wanted to convince her that this Jose Feliciano guy really could sing. She heard the song — and wasn’t convinced.

I was disappointed until I remembered feeling the same way when my father introduced me to Anna Moffo. Probably even rolled my eyes.

And, you know, that lady could sing.

Leave a Reply

